Spine Therapy Network (STN) Membership Endorsement Committees

STN is committed to the development of a clear and reliable process to identify the criteria for membership. Through this process our goal is to achieve a high level of credibility recognizable by the referring community and to ensure a high level of patient satisfaction. We believe that the success of the Network depends on members who have achieved and are maintaining a level of knowledge and practice consistent with the standards of an STN spine therapist.

How are we identifying Spine Therapists?

To accomplish our goal, STN has developed a 3 part process to identify the criteria needed to endorse a spine therapist as a member of STN.

Step One: Formation of Profession-specific Membership Endorsement Committees.

The scope of Step one will be limited to degenerative/mechanical spine conditions.

Step One is now complete in the Establishment of profession-specific membership endorsement committees and their Criteria for membership for the following professions:

Physiotherapy – Click Here

Chiropractic – Click Here

Step Two: Formation of Interdisciplinary Membership Endorsement Committees

Step Three: Formation of Expanded Scope of Profession-specific Membership Endorsement Committees

Who’s on our Membership Endorsement Committee?

The STN principals have been meeting with a number of professional associations, University and educational representatives as well as credentialing institutions. Their feedback has helped to develop the framework for this process. They have also identified the individuals best suited to assist in this initiative.

At this time members have been identified for the first two Profession-Specific Membership Endorsement Committees. The Physiotherapy and Chiropractic professions were selected as first cohorts for members as it is believed that they currently have processes in place, which can be used to identify an STN level of spine therapist.

Both Committees will be chaired by the principles of STN:

  • Sukhvinder Kalsi-Ryan –Physiotherapist, Clinical Scientist, Krembil Neuroscience Spine Program, Founding Member STN – Bio
  • Maureen Dwight – Physiotherapist, CPA Clinical Musculoskeletal Specialist, ISAEC Advanced Spine Practitioner, Founding Member STN – Bio

We are pleased to announce the formation of these committees with the following members:


Angelo Papachristos– Physiotherapist, Advanced Clinical Practitioner Arthritic Care

Darryl Yardley– Physiotherapist, Fellow Canadian Academy of Manipulative Therapists, Chair Private Practice Division CPA. 
Anja Franz – Physiotherapist, Faculty, Robin McKenzie Institute  Canada



Euson Yeung – Physiotherapist, Faculty University of Toronto Physiotherapy Department


Dr. Matthew Barrigar– President, College of Chiropractic Orthopaedic Specialists

Dr. Carlan Stants– Past President of the Canadian Chiropractic Specialty College of Physical and Occupational Rehabilitation (CCPOR)
Dr. David Dos Santos–President Canadian Society of Chiropractic Evaluators



Dr. Carlo Ammendolia – DC, PhD, Assistant Professor IHPME University of Toronto, Staff Clinician/Associate Scientist Mount Sinai Hospital, Professorship in Spine, Dept. of Surgery U of T (Bio)

Next steps

Accepting membership from physiotherapy and chiropractic spine therapists

With the completion of Step-One the membership credentialing committees for physiotherapy and chiropractic have produced a report based on a review of existing educational credentials, backgrounds and skill-sets.  This report recommends the levels of education, skills and training which are consistent with the STN requirements for endorsing a spine therapist.  These, recommendations have been reviewed and accepted by our Scientific Advisory Council.  Therapists with identified suitable credentials are invited to apply for membership,  ( How to Join ).

Step Two

Step Two in the process is the formation of an Interdisciplinary Membership Endorsement Committee.  This step will extend the application for membership to other spine-related professions such as registered kinesiologists, registered massage therapists, registered occupational therapists, registered nurse practitioners, etc.

In addition, Step-Two will look to expand membership to beyond degenerative spinal conditions for physiotherapy and chiropractic.  It will seek representation for the treatment of patients with more complex spine conditions including rheumatological, oncological, neurological, etc.  We will be taking into consideration the varying continuing educational backgrounds of potential members, to ensure that they have the required education, training or experience to meet the needs of these complex spine patients.

Step Three

Step-Three is the final step in the process.  In this Step we will be expanding the Profession-Specific Committees to review the recommendations of the Interdisciplinary Committee and apply these criteria to each respective profession in addition to physiotherapy and chiropractic.  Once completed these recommendations will be posted on our website and therapists with the appropriate background and credentials will be invited to apply.